My experiments with gardening

Trying to grow a garden and get rid of the tag 'plant killer'

New tidings in the new year! January 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — SDJ @ 3:20 pm

I would like to put up the before and after pics of many of my plants. The weather has been much better in Mumbai. They say it is winter but I would call it an odd weather pattern which is helping germination a lot.  I have got so many seeds to germinate and my plants are doing much better.

God works in mysterious ways. You know I had 3 cherry tomato seedlings. I planted 2 good ones with care in pots and one I discarded. After all my work I glanced the discarded seedling and I felt sorry for it and just planted it in the cup because I did not want to waste my pots. The other two promptly died and this one was just hanging in there. I thought it might give up but one day it started growing and it surprises me everyday with its growth.

You know sometimes while gardening you think you can be God by deciding which seedlings to keep, discard or to give away some saplings because you have too many but you may never know which will work and which will not. You’ll never know the outcome. It is best to keep every seedling, sapling because if not, you might be left with nothing. You know I had 23 cicoria seedlings, I thinned them out to 1 per cell and now I dont have even one. They all died. I don’t know what went wrong. 😦

Really love the pictures. With less care from my end and occassional glance they became this big. I had leaf miners in cucumber and cherry tomato. Promptly disposal of leaves helped in control. Now, I have whiteflies in Cucumber, Hibiscus and Tulsi. I am not spraying anything and still thinking as to what to do. Maybe I’ll set up a fly trap.

In my next post I’ll put the details of all the shops, resources for gardening in Mumbai and surrounding areas.

Cherry tomato plant(Left one taken on 31st dec. Right one taken today)

Showing first true leaves

Ready for transplant into a bigger pot

Single chilli seedling on 31st Dec

Chilli seedlings today

Young cucumber seedlings on 31 Dec

Much bigger with vines

Voluntary(I did not plant seed) chilli plant

Voluntary seedling on December 4th

 

One Response to “New tidings in the new year!”

  1. shamim Says:

    strange are the ways of The Almighty. One truly feels humbled by His ways.I too have experienced something similar with my tomatoes seedlings.What happened was that i was a bit too late to transplant my tomato seedlings.Just like u i too segregated the stronger looking from the relatively weaker ones.Once transplantation was done , i glanced at the discarded seedlings. i just did not have the heart to throw one of them.so i pushed it one of the pots with composting matter. i did not even water it initally .but gradually it grew and grew so well. I had not even taken care while uprooting it. and don’t worry we all have our share of failures and success.i am sure u too will soon do all the right things and all your plants will flourish. we all learn with time.


Leave a Reply

